Support Groups

Many people find peer support a helpful tool that can aid in their recovery. Support groups are a great resource for people to maintain control over their lives, to give and take the wisdom and experience that comes from living with a devastating illness. An effective support group helps recovery through mutual support and provides updated information about causes and treatment.

I started my online support group in February of 2019 after I came out of a deep depression from being diagnosed. Having a support group and being able to help others have been such a proud accomplishment in my life battling AS and fibromyalgia, most days are hard but having support makes it a lil more easier to cope with because you have people who truly understand what your going through and who are there to lend support and share experiences. My online support group has been so successful that I was granted the opportunity to lead my own in person support group in my hometown of North Myrtle Beach SC. If you or someone you know is suffering with a chronic illness and is looking to join a fun loving support group please go to https://www.spondylitis.org/Community/Support-Groups/North-Myrtle-Beach for a support group near you.

Published by

naynay20

Hello welcome to my blog! My Name is Nadine but everyone calls me Nay! Which is where "NAP ALL YEAR" came from. I'm 35 I was born and raised in Bronx NYC I'm a mom of 2 handsome boys Tyler and Demetrius. Growing up I always felt I looked different from others because I had an underdeveloped jaw my jaw started shifting to one side of my face and continued to shift throughout my adulthood, in my teenage years I was teased and bullied because of how I looked I never knew why I looked the way I did we thought it was from sucking my fingers when I was a kid. I lived like this for years never knowing there was a reason why my face was crooked, because I was always teased I wanted to help young girls battling the same thing that I experienced I wanted to help anybody battling Chronic illness because I struggled when I was first diagnosed it sucks being different sometimes when no one understands what your going through I want to be a ear and a voice so recently I became a Global brand leader for a charity for young adults and teens battling chronic illness (Invisiyouth) when I was diagnosed all I did was nap I gave up on myself I let my condition take over my life which is why I started the NAP ALL YEAR movement to spread awareness and help others as much as I can. In December of 2017 I went for a consultation to correct my jaw I was unhappy with my appearance and wanted to finally see why my jaw was shifting they ran several blood test and I tested positive for an antigen called HLA-B27 I was referred to a rheumatologist where I was diagnosed with AS (Ankylosing Spondylitis) and fibromyalgia. In April of 2018 I underwent double jaw surgery and a genioplasty to correct my jaw joint dysfunction because I had severe joint damage which caused The asymmetry to my face. This is my journey living with chronic illness! My online IG support group can be found through my IG account @nap_all_year!

Leave a comment